Dear David

Dear Mr Cameron,

I’ve got to say it, right from the beginning – I didn’t vote Blue.  I do, however, believe that you are someone who is passionate about doing the best job for the country you now lead.  I am very much a supporter of some of the measures you brought in during your last period in government – your government will always have a fond place in my heart for your introduction of the Modern Slavery Bill.  For those voiceless millions – thank you. 

Having said that, for the first time I can remember, I am genuinely frightened by the results of the election.  Not because I believe you are a bad person – very far from it.  But because the record seems to suggest a party policy of disproportionately disadvantaging those least able to deal with it.  As your own have already suggested, there’s very little low hanging fruit left.  The answer, surely, can’t be to strip the tree entirely.

You’ve already cut legal aid, making access to justice for the poorest almost impossible.  I was able to attend 6thform, and consequently university, ONLY because of the Educational Maintenance Allowance – which you’ve now removed.  612 Sure Start Centres, providing services to some of the neediest under 5’s in the country, have been lost.  3.5 billion has been taken out of the Adult Social Care budget. 

I could go on and on, but you’ve heard it all before, especially those who’d like to run you into the ground because they disagree with your policies.  Let’s be honest – every single government since the Magna Carta has its statistics – yours just get trumpeted around more since King John didn’t have the internet.

I do, however, believe that you have a huge choice to make.  You said in a recent speech that you wanted to “make Britain Great”.  The problem is, no society is great if its most vulnerable are struggling.  That’s not greatness, it’s merely hypocrisy. 

I know you, like me, are a Christian. And so we follow the man who defined greatness by becoming weak.  By entering into the lives of the poor, the marginalised, and the outcast, and declaring that this was not all there was. By turning the concept of first and last on its head, in a way that left the haves gasping and the have-not’s hopeful.

You’re in this position for a reason. And you have the power to make real change.  The question is whether it’s change that leaves the poor marginalised, stigmatised, and struggling, or a change which truly does make Britain great.

I have faith in you.  Please don’t let me down.  Convince me.  Challenge me. I want to be so convinced by your government that my vote gets significantly darker. 

I believe you can do it.  But I’m going to be

honest. I’m desperately scared about what will happen if you don’t.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear David

  1. 7minutesnet says:

    Thanks for those thoughts – no I didn’t vote blue either!

  2. Andy says:

    Really hope he reads it. Well said

Leave a Reply

