“people just shouldn’t be sick. It’s too yukky”

That was Isaac.  He was giving me a cuddle.  I’d just found out that a very dear friend – yet another one – had been diagnosed with cancer.

And the thing is, he’s right.  Illness is unfair.  And it’s very, very yukky.  Cancer almost most of all.  It’s currently affecting three people close to me – two very dear friends, and an equally dear mother-in-law.  And it makes me sad, and angry.

Because it doesn’t have to be like this.  People shouldn’t need to go through the horrors of cancer.  Families and friends shouldn’t be devestated like this.  And yes, I know that’s a dream.  But there is plenty of amazing and incredible research going on to make that dream into reality.

So I’m going to be cheeky, but I’d love to ask for your support.  In honour of Jen, Jo, Row, Kathy, and all the countless people who’ve been affected by this horrid disease, I am, insanely, doing the Race for Life next week, which raises money for cancer research – researching ways to stop this stupid illness.  Those who know me well know the only sport i willingly undertake is the arduous hike to the kitchen for more chocolate, so this – even 5k – is not going to be easy.

Neither’s cancer though.  So please think about sponsoring me.  The link is here – https://www.justgiving.com/Lizzi-Green.

I’ll even reward you with pics of me running – can’t say fairer than that!

Please.  Because cancer is yukky.  And it doesn’t deserve to win.

Please.  Because being sick is yukky.  And we can

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

