I must stop reading the Daily Mail…

because my patience has just run out.  Please be warned – this is about to go thermo-nuclear…

 

The Daily Mail does not exactly have the best record on mental health reporting.  This is a cause dear to my heart.  I suffer with depression, and, to be honest, will be on anti-depressants for a while.  I liken it to getting a fist full of splinters.  Many people will be able to pull their splinters out themselves, or with support – like counselling  Some might need anaesthetic (anti-depressants) to help them work on getting the splinters out – it has to be done, but when the splinters are deep enough, the drugs make the pain bearable.

So, anyway, I read this with horror. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-124979/Plans-lock-mental-health-patients.html

Let me start by saying that I honestly do think there are some – rare, but some – cases where people need to be supported back to a place where they can make good choices about their lives again.  In some cases, this might be about taking them to a place of safety whilst they get to a point they can cope again.  I don’t have a problem with that, although I can’t imagine how distressing it must be.

The provision for this is NOT locking up – and do you honestly think that detaining people with serious mental distress is going to be a solution?  For who, anyway?  For the tax payers spending the money on this?  For society, who loses out on a person of incredible value?  For who?

Also, the headline?  I’m a mental health patient  So are a good deal of my friends.  Please stop lumping us in with psychopathy/sociopathy – a very different set of illnesses.  Because all you do is make out that anyone with a struggle is dangerous.  More ostracism. Really helpful to all concerned. As for your article recently that decided mental illness was not in fact an illness – are you serious? Do we really want to go back to the days when that was wasn’t recognised? You’ll be casting out demons next.

Daily Mail, I seriously wonder whether you should be legal.  Who do you actually like?  No-one I know, for sure.

If you have a heart, do me a favour.  Please unlock it and let real life enter.  Just for a minute, ok?  It’ll be painful.  But also the best decision you ever made.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I must stop reading the Daily Mail…

  1. I think everyone should stop reading it. It’s just propaganda, from front to back!

  2. my new years resolution was to stop reading the Daily Mail. First resolution I’ve ever kept

Leave a Reply

