Dear David…

Guys, I’m still beyond words with this.  80,000 people have now read my original post – and raised or donated £750 for the Trussel Trust! 

I’ve been wondering about this, and about why it’s had such a big impact.  SInce the first letter went so well, I tried to express my thoughts in another.  I’m not sure how much good it will do, but hope is always a good thing!

 

Dear Mr Cameron,

My name is Lizzi.  I live in Hastings with my son and husband, and I’ve got to be honest and say I’ve never voted Conservative in my life.  Which probably means we don’t have a lot in common – except for this.  We’re both Christians.

And actually, the first thing I really want to say is thank you.  It takes guts to admit to faith, and it’s something I don’t always find easy.  To do it when you’re Prime Minister, and have all the pressures of that office on you as well – that isn’t easy. Mr Cameron, I really admire you for that.

But. I have to admit, you also make me sad.  And I’ve been trying to work out why that is recently, and I think I’ve worked it out.  You see, when i read the Bible, I see a Jesus committed to valuing and loving and affirming the least in society.  The hurting, the outcast.  Those whom society hated.  That’s the Jesus that first got my excited about Him.  I figured that if that’s what God is like, He couldn’t be half bad!

And yet, your government seems to be promulgating the idea that poverty is moral failure.  When the disabled face increased harrassment and victimisation – often from your own government departments – where you praise the work of foodbanks but refuse to consider a debate on their increasing need in parliament – where those out of work are often treated like it’s their own fault – where the poorest of the poor are repeatedly affected by austerity measures, and the wealthy simply aren’t – I can’t help wondering if that’s actually a society Jesus would want.

Mr Cameron, I am so lucky at the moment.  I wrote a blog post the other day, and because of it, huge amounts of people have shared their stories with me.  And they’re incredible and touching.  ANd what stands out isn’t necessariliy the help people recieved, although it’s obviously vitally important.  But the people who seem most affected are those that had felt ashamed, and somehow had their humanity affirmed by people not only giving them material help, but by taking the time to listen to and love them. 

And I think you’re in such an amazing position here.  You have so much power and so much influence.  I’m asking – no, I’m begging you – to use it well.  To show people how loved they are.  To refuse to preside over a government contiuously devaluing people. 

I know you’re in a difficult position.  I know financial decisions have to be made, and I know it’s obvious that people will be affected. But please, please stop allowing your government to penalise the poorest whilst the rich reamain almost unchanged.  And please, please, stand up again for the Jesus you’ve been talking about.  The Jesus that challenged us all to not stand by whilst our brothers and sisters are hurting. 

Mr Cameron, I know you can do it.  Please prove me right.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear David…

  1. Penny says:

    bravo Lizzi xx

  2. Mary says:

    You sound lovely like many of the Christians I grew up with. But
    “if you call God male, you help a girl fail”
    Christianity taught me patience, kindness and submission to men. There’s no getting away from the inherent sexism, and believe me I’ve spent years reading the subject.
    I was under constant pressure to marry young, “stand behind a man of God” be the support group, not contradict a man and make babies, tow the party line and always be a good witness. This is in England in the late 1980s.
    And when I prayed I always put a man in charge of my soul. No more.
    Id recommend anyone saying “she” when referencing a wider power, if it sounds wrong then it’s wrong to say “He” and until we teach children this, ingrained sexism will continue.

    Or better still, no authoritiy figure at all, just kindred souls and a universal life force, and the kindness ascribed to Jesus (although he never got to write his own story)
    Do miss my Christian friends, but they shunned me for “independent thought” like thats a bad thing…
    Best wishes, I’ve donated to trussell trust as well. I’m all for the ethics 😉 😉

    • squidgetsmum says:

      Hey,
      I actually agree with you! One of my closest friends, a male, refers to God as she. I’ve found that very liberating. ..and I agree, often so.e very s exist attitudes are part of faith. I think Jesus would hate that.

      Xx

Leave a Reply

