jewellry..

So I know I haven’t posted for a while.  Nothing too exciting, just been a bit distracted – lots going on with church and guiding especially, plus starting a new job.  Also, my quiet, timid, nervous little boy has turned into an all talking, all jumping, all completely mad little loon.  It’s lovely, but boy, they need to start giving out sedatives at the 2 year check.  For mummy…

So, anyway, today’s big news is that I’m wearing some new jewellry.  I know, not very me, huh?  When I say it’s new – it’s actually just new to me wearing it.  I bought it nearly 16 years ago.  It’s a very cheap mood ring, purchased from a market stall, at an age where I thought they were kinda cool.  Ok, I admit, they are still very pretty, but the sparkle was taken out when I realised they responded to heat, rather than mood!

This ring originally had a pair.  When I was 14, a very dear friend, Mira, and I bought them for each other.  I lost my one years ago – the one I’m wearing is Mira’s.  It arrived in the post today – a very precious package from a very far off land.  See, Mira was found wearing it.  In fact, she died wearing it.  We don’t know all the details, but Mira was killed in 2012.  She was the victim of an honour killing – brutally murdered at the hands of a gang, many of which were relatives.  They believed she’d committed the ultimate crime – against themselves, against her nation, against her religion.  Her crime?  She simply made a decision about her future for herself – something we take for granted.

And this?  This is why we have to keep up the campaign against violence against women.  Because these people we read about?  They’re not “them”.  They’re us.  They’re friends, daughters, sisters.  They’re you and they’re me and they’re countless other women, in every street, in every town, in every region, in every nation.

And no, I’m not trying to diminish the serious issue of violence against men too.  But here’s the thing.  In the UK, we currently have the figures for 2012-2013.  And it’s estimated that around 1.2 million women suffered domestic abuse and over 330,000 women were sexually assaulted.  That figure just isn’t right. 

There’s so much we can do, and I’m planning to blog a few more posts on the issue.  But right now, I want to honour my brave, beautiful Mira.  I miss you.  I love you.  And I promise I won’t let this be the end of the story.

My ring is green at the moment – apparently, “hopeful” and “endeavouring”.  Maybe there’s something in it after all…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

